Keywords: Prodigy, Maze, Chickenhouse

August 10, 2006

The other day, for no apparent reason, I began to reminiscence about my old Prodigy days. Prodigy was a dial-up service, like CompuServe or AOL that offered message boards, news, reference information, games – and more! What differentiated Prodigy from the rest key was the unlimited usage for a flat subscription – when most other services where charging by the minute. That means I could waste hours in front of the PC, and not make mom and dad take out a second mortgage. Kid tested, parent approved.

I remember spending a good deal of time on the service, but most of the details are hazy. Aside from reading message boards about R/C cars and Sierra game tips, only one other thing sticks out in my mind. A game. A game where you wandered through a maze. Why? No idea.

Oh yeah, and there was a house with chicken legs. How did the house get chicken legs, and why is it in the maze? Again, no idea.

Fast forward to this morning. I was browsing through some of my less news feeds, when an article entitled “Prodigy Lives! Play MadMaze On the Web” on VintageComputing.com. Could this be the very game that has inexplicably risen out of my subconscious? And better yet, could I play it via the web right now? Tantalizing, indeed, but was this in fact the same game I remember from yesteryear?  It did match 2 of the 3 keywords – “Prodigy” and “Maze”, but was there a Chickenhouse?

I clicked the link in my newsreader to load up the full article and was greeted with a few screenshots of the game.  Of course I recalled the Prodigy login screen, and the Mad Maze start screen looked kinda sorta familiar – but I wasn’t sure.  Then, after a little fancy scrollbar interaction, there it was, just as I remembered it – the Chickenhouse.

I could hardly wait to play. According to the post:

MadMaze-II plays almost exactly like the original;

Awesome!

the only down side is that it requires Internet Explorer to play.

Opposite of awesome!

I guess I’ll have to fire up IE on my crash-happy old gaming box for this particular nostalgia fix. Thankfully, VintageComputing provided some sweet wallpaper to tide me over.

One Response to “Keywords: Prodigy, Maze, Chickenhouse”


  1. […] merz’s blog […]


Leave a Reply

